Department for Work and Pensions


Site navigation


List of countries

This lists the countries in the European Economic Area that apply the European Community (EC) Regulations on social security and also the countries that have individual social security agreements between them and the United Kingdom (UK).


European Economic Area (EEA) countries

Countries included are:

Gibraltar - for everything except healthcare and child benefits, the UK applies the EC Regulations to Gibraltar as though it is another EEA country. Other EEA countries treat Gibraltar as though it is part of the UK.

Switzerland is not a member of the EEA, but as a result of an agreement with the EU that came into force on 1 June 2002, the EU rules on social security will also largely cover Switzerland. However, the EU rules do not apply to you if you are a Swiss national going to or coming from Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway or if you are a national of one of those countries going to or coming from Switzerland. The agreement between Switzerland and the EU has not yet been extended to Bulgaria and Romania.

Social secuity agreement countries

These countries have social security agreements with the UK.

*The Social Security Agreement between the United Kingdom (UK) and Australia was terminated by Australia and ended on 28 February 2001. When in force the agreement helped people moving between the two countries by allowing periods of UK residence to be treated as periods of residence in Australia, in claims for Australian Age Pension, and periods of Australian residence to count as periods when UK National Insurance Contributions had been paid in claims for UK basic State Pension and bereavement benefits made in the UK. People getting benefit under the terms of the Agreement when it ended continue to be helped by it. However, any additional amount of benefit that becomes payable under the agreement is no longer paid if the person leaves the UK to live permanently elsewhere (outside the UK, the Isle of Man or the Channel Islands).

For people living in or coming to the UK after the agreement ended, the UK Government has made special arrangements to allow periods of residence in Australia, up to April 2001, to be taken into account in claims for basic State Pension and bereavement benefits. Any additional amount of benefit that becomes payable under the special arrangements remains payable as long as the person continues to live permanently in the UK or the Isle of Man.

For former residents of the UK who now live in Australia, the Agreement counted residence in the UK towards the 10-year residence test for Australia's Age Pension. UK pensioners have the amount of their UK State Pension deducted from any Australian Age Pension awarded in this way. We understand that Australia continues to apply this to people who emigrated before 1 March 2000. People arriving in Australia after that date now have to satisfy the ten year residence test before they can qualify for Age Pension.

For more information contact the International Pension Centre.

** For contributions and benefits there are special arrangements in place for people who travel to the Isle of Man from the UK. You can read the details of the arrangements for the Isle of Man on the HM Revenue & Customs website.

*** The agreements between Japan and the Republic of Korea are Double Contributions Conventions (DCC) which only cover social security contribution liability and do not include benefits. You can find more details on DCC's and the agreements between Japan and Korea on the HM Revenue & Customs website

Country definitions

UK - means England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland and for the agreements with Barbados, Bermuda, Canada, Israel, Jamaica, Jersey and Guernsey, Mauritius, New Zealand, the Philippines, Turkey, USA and the Republics of the former Yugoslavia includes the Isle of Man. In addition, for the agreements with Barbados, Bermuda, Jamaica, Japan, the Republic of Korea and the USA, the UK includes Jersey and Guernsey.

Great Britain - means England, Scotland and Wales.

Channel Islands - Jersey means the Island of Jersey; Guernsey means Guernsey, Alderney, Herm and Jethou.

Israel - means the territory administered by the Government of Israel on 19 July 1956. Territory which is outside Israel, as defined above, is not covered by the agreement.

Republics of former Yugoslavia - This and references to ‘The Republic’ means the Republics of Bosnia-Hercegovina, Croatia, Kosovo, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia.

Turkey - means the Republic of Turkey.